School Resource Officers

Each of the Middle Schools and High Schools in the Catawba County School System has a Deputy Sheriff assigned as a School Resource Officer with the exception of Maiden High and Maiden Middle which are served by Maiden Police Department.. We also have SRO's assigned to elementary schools within the the County School system. Each of these elementary SRO's are assigned to their own school with the exception of four who split their time between two schools. There are also three deputies assigned as School Resource Officers at Catawba Valley Community College, which includes Challenger High School.

The School Resource Officer program has been very successful. The students see the deputies as someone who they can befriend and go to for guidance. A positive relationship with a school resource officer has shown to have a positive affect on a child’s perception of safety at school. The one-on-one relationship between students and officers allows them to solve problems before those problems grow out of control.

In a research study conducted by Captain Fish in 2011, school administrators and resource officers both felt that deputies served as mentors or counselors foremost. Students felt that the deputies were more approachable, because they were in the halls and lunchroom with them. Students associated guidance counselors as part of the school administration, and they are not as likely to go to the office.

If you would like more information, or programs offered by the School Resource Officers, you may call SGT Jody Grindstaff or LT Eric Page at 828-465-8278 or via email at and

The School Resource Officers are assigned as follows:

Bandys High School
Deputy Craig Sigmon

Bunker Hill High School
Deputy Marcus Miller

Fred T Foard High School
Deputy Mark Dentel

Roaming K9 Officer
Deputy Jeremy Graham

St. Stephens High School
Deputy Dale Lail

Catawba Rosenwald Education Center
Deputy Brandon Lackey

H M Arndt middle School
Deputy Seth Wallace

Jacobs Fork Middle School


Riverbend Middle School
Deputy David Coffman


Mill Creek Middle School
Deputy Chad Eades

Mt View Elementary
Deputy Joyce Cline

St Stephens Elementary
Deputy Darren Yang

Catawba/Tuttle Elementary
Deputy Amber Morris

Balls Creek Elementary SRO
Deputy Brandie Trouille

Claremont/Lyle Creek Elementary
Deputy Nikki Lineberger

Catawba Valley Community College
Deputy Josh Robertson
828-327-7000 ext 4910

Deputy Shawn Goodnight
828-327-7000 ext 4300

Lieutenant Bryon Hollar
828-327-7000 ext 4676

Oxford Elementary SRO
Deputy Toby Daniel

Sherrills Ford Elementary SRO
Deputy Hunter Robinson

Banoak Elementary SRO

Murray/Campbell Elementary SRO

Snow Creek Elementary SRO
Deputy David Fox

Startown/Blackburn Elementary SRO
Deputy Allen Carlisle