Sale of Real Property
|Listing Owner||Property Address||REID #||Sale Date||Approximate Bid||Court Case #|
|Lakenorth Propety Management||730 15th Ave Cir SE, Hickory, NC 28602||606492||December 11th, 2018||$4,590.14||17-CVD-1397|
|Lakenorth Property Management||804 15th Ave Cir SE, Hickory, NC 28602||42231||December 11th, 2018||$4,323.12||17-CVD-1398|
|North Carolina Farm Lands, LLC||8265 McDonald Dr. Sherrills Ford, 28673|
|December 11th, 2018||$1,782.64||17-CVD-1765|
|North Carolina Farm Lands, LLC||8251 McDonald Dr. Sherrills Ford, 28673||7329||December 11th, 2018||$1,477.67||17-CVD-1765|
|North Carolina Farm Lands, LLC||8239 McDonald Dr. Sherrills Ford, 28673||7330||December 11th, 2018||$1,614.15||17-CVD-1765|
All sales are conducted on the front steps of the Catawba County Justice Center at 100 Government Drive, Newton, North Carolina. Sales start at 12:00 p.m., unless otherwise noted. Please note that a cash deposit of 20% of the highest bid is required immediately upon conclusion of the sale at the courthouse. In addition, the successful bidder will be required to pay the balance of the purchase price, as well as the recording fees and revenue stamps assessed by the County Register of Deeds, before the sale is confirmed.
State law provides that any owner, mortgage holder or defendant in a filed tax foreclosure proceeding can stop the foreclosure process at any time by redeeming the property. The redemption price is equal to the taxes, interest fees and costs of the foreclosure proceeding to the date of the redemption.
Bids are left open for upset bids ten days after sale date. If you are the highest bidder at the public auction and an upset bid is received within ten days, you will be notified by the Catawba County Sheriff’s Office that an upset bid has been received. You will then have the option to place a higher bid. Any upset bids must be made in person at the Catawba County Clerk of Superior Court.
After the time for submitting an upset bid has expired, G.S. 1-339.67 provides for an order of confirmation to be entered. No sale may be consummated until confirmed by the Clerk of Superior Court. The final bidder will be contacted and arrangements will be made for full payment, which will be due in the form of a certified bank check and the Sheriff will execute the Non-Warranty Sheriff’s Deed. The buyer is responsible for recording the deed as well as the recording fees at the Catawba County Register of Deeds to change ownership. The buyer is also responsible for the current year taxes. Properties sold may be subject to IRS or State tax liens, other taxes or special assessments not included in the judgment.
Upset Bid Process
Pursuant to G.S. 1-339.64, real property sales must remain open for a period of ten days after the filing of the report of sale to allow for the filing of an upset bid. The upset bid must exceed the reported sale price by 5%, but not less than a minimum increase amount of $750.00. The upset bid must be delivered to the Catawba County Clerk of Superior Court in the form of a certified bank check payable to the Catawba County Clerk of Superior Court, and must be filed with the Catawba County Clerk of Superior Court before the close of normal business hours on or before the tenth day after the filing of the report of sale. When the tenth day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or other day where the office of the Clerk is not open for regular business, the deposit may be made on the first day afterward that the office is open for regular business. Questions concerning placing an upset bid should be directed to the Catawba County Clerk of Superior Court, Civil Records Division at (828) 695-6100. Please inform them that you are calling regarding a tax foreclosure.