Contact Information

  • Randy Willis, District Administrator
  • (828) 465-8950
  • Contact via email
  • Main Location:1175 S Brady Ave, Suite 302 Newton, NC 28658

Soil & Water Conservation District


The Catawba Soil and Water Conservation District's mission is to ensure a quality urban and rural environment with clean water, protected soil resources, properly managed forest and wildlife, and an environmentally, economically and culturally viable agricultural community.

We work with state, federal, and local agencies such as the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Carolina Land and Lake Resources Conservation and Development, Division of Water Quality, Corp of Engineers, NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Farm Service Agency, NC Cooperative Extension, NC Forest Service, etc., on natural resource concerns.

Randy Willis
District Administrator
rwillis@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Blake Henley
Soil Conservation Technician
blakehenley@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Leia Hamlyn
Education Coordinator
lhamlyn@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Chris “Chopper” Fulbright
H (828) 764-7666
2655 Balls Creek Road
Newton, NC 28658
chris.fulbright84@gmail.com
Elected

Susie Devine
(828) 466-0130
1473 Prison Camp Rd
Newton, NC 28658
devine5farm@bellsouth.net
Appointed

Laura Parnell
(828) 431-2380
1059 19th Ave. Pl. NW
Hickory, NC 28601
hickoryparnell@gmail.com
Elected

David Caldwell
(H) 828-478-4429
4452 Briarcreek Road
Maiden, NC 28650
dtcaldwell20@gmail.com
Elected

Steve Killian
828-256-9142
382 Pinecrest Drive NE
Hickory, NC 28601
skillian@embarqmail.com
Appointed

Jim Propst
jim.propst@nc.usda.gov
(828) 464-1382

Julius Johnson
julius.johnson@nc.usda.gov
(828) 464-1382