Contact Information

  • Sheriff Coy Reid
  • (828) 464-5241
  • Main Location:P.O. Box 385100 Government Drive., Building E Newton, NC 28658
  • (view all county locations)

Gun Permits

The Catawba County Sheriff’s Office reminds citizens of the proper and safe use and storage of firearms. If you see a gun:

  • Don’t touch it
  • Leave the area
  • Tell a trusted adult
  • Never point a gun (toy or not) at another person

Gun Safety Resources:

North Carolina Gun Laws

A handgun purchase permit application can be filled out online, printed, and brought to the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. A copy of your NC Driver’s License or NC picture ID card and a non-refundable $5 cash fee per permit are required at time of application. Permits must be picked up within 30 days from date of approval notification.

Apply Here

Before you can receive a permit, you are required to obtain a Concealed Handgun Safety course certificate. Please see the Concealed Carry Instructors tab on this page for a current list of instructors in the state.

When you are ready to apply, come to the Sheriff’s Office between 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday and complete a Concealed Carry application. You will also complete a Physical and Mental Health Release Form, which authorizes the disclosure to the Sheriff of any record concerning the physical and mental health of the applicant. Please allow 20-30 minutes for fingerprinting and completion of the application process. Please allow 90 days to process new concealed carry permits.

You will need to bring:

  • A valid driver’s license or picture identification
  • $90.00 in cash (exact amount required) to cover the application fee
  • Your Concealed Handgun Safety course certificate
  • A copy of your DD 214 if you served in the military

It is your responsibility to notify the Records Division of any name, address, or phone number changes that occur during the five years of your permit.

Come to the Sheriff’s Office approximately 6 weeks before expiration date of your current permit, which appears on your card, to complete your renewal application. You may reapply between 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Monday-Friday. Please allow at least 20 minutes for renewal process.

Bring $75.00 cash (exact amount required) to cover the renewal fee. The renewal process usually takes 90 days.

North Carolina Department of Justice Concealed Carry Information

North Carolina Concealed Carry Instructors
Please note this is a partial list that is subject to change.

James Jude Amelia: (828) 499-9122Gary Russell Burgess: (828) 244-2287
Nolan Beam: (704) 579-0825Chris Champion: (704) 860-9489
Johnny Randolph Clark: (828) 850-5150Gianni Niglio: (828)638-0338
Yates Alexander Cobb: (828) 437-1211Roy Price: (704) 732-8368
Kevin Marcine Ezell: (704) 483-6723David Jack Pruitt: (828) 320-4619
Nathan Fisher: (828) 244-3727Rex A. Sigmon: (828) 320-4735
Keith William Harper (828) 234-3979Jack Edward Simons: (828) 638-6671
John Robert Head: (828) 874-2762Jerry Thomas Simmons: (828) 850-7817
J Mark London: (704) 528-3619Dan H. Tharpe: (828) 217-8424
Randy Wayne Martin: (828) 758-8425Larry Dwight Willis: (704) 462-1948
R. J. Meeks (828) 446-2416Frank Willis Jr.: (828) 328-3606