Catawba County Offices will be closed on Friday, April 19, 2019 in observance of Good Friday.
Catawba County Libraries will be closed April 19-21.
Catawba County Parks (Bakers Mtn, Riverbend, St. Stephens), Blackburn Sanitary Landfill and Convenience Centers will remain open.

Parks Advisory Committee

The Parks Advisory Committee was established to act as representatives of the residents of Catawba County. Their mission is to assist and provide input to the County on improvements that would enhance the Catawba County Park experience. The Committee is comprised of County residents of diverse backgrounds, age, ethnicity, affiliations and gender who live throughout the County. Meetings are conducted on a quarterly basis, with additional meetings throughout the year for system-wide and individual park master plans or projects. Committee members help distribute flyers and surveys and host public forums to get direct citizen input for specific projects.

Parks Advisory Committee 2017 Meeting Schedule

Meeting Schedule
The Catawba County Parks Advisory Committee meets at 7:00 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room of the Government Center located at 25 Government Drive, Newton, NC 28658 unless otherwise noted.

Additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the chairperson.

  • February 7, 2018
  • May 2, 2018
  • August 1, 2018
  • November 7, 2018

Persons with Disabilities
Individuals needing assistance should contact the Planning Office (828) 465-8380 within a reasonable time prior to the meeting. A telecommunication device for the deaf (TDD) is located in the Government Center and can be reached by dialing (828) 465- 8200. Access to the Government Center for individuals with disabilities is at the front of the building. The elevator is located nearby. Participation in public meetings is without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, or disability.

Parks Advisory Committee Members 2016-2017

Andrea Bruns
3-year term – Expires 10/6/18
Paul Beatty, Jr.
3-year term – Expires 10/6/19
Mylo Lor
3-year term – Expires 10/6/18
Phil Piaski
3-year term – Expires 10/6/17
Terry Holdsclaw
3-year term – Expires 10/6/19
Robert Crouch
3-year term – Expires 10/6/18
John McAuley
3-year term – Expires 10/6/19
Sara Scherr
3-year term – Expires 10/6/18
Dr. Karen McDougal
3-year term – Expires 10/6/17
The Honorable Nathan J. Poovey
3-year term – Expires 10/6/19
Jerry McCombs
3-year term – Expires 10/6/17
Wilton Scronce
3-year term – Expires 10/6/17