Contact Information

  • Amanda Duncan, Director
  • (828) 464-2424
  • Contact via email
  • Main Location:PO Box 13225 Government Drive Newton, NC 28658
  • (view all county locations)

Board Members

Board members are appointed to 2-year terms beginning in July of odd-numbered years by the State Board of Elections from names submitted by the state's Democratic and Republican parties.

David W. Hood (Rep)
Barry R. Cheney (Dem)
Stephen L. Palmer (Rep)

The Board of Elections is the only statutory bi-partisan, quasi-judicial supervisory board in North Carolina State government. The local Board’s duties are imposed by law and include the making and issuing of rules, regulations, and instructions, not inconsistent with law or the rules established by the State Board of Elections, as it deems necessary for the guidance of election officers and voters.