Contact Information

  • Catawba County Government
  • (828) 465-8200
  • Main Location:25 Government DrivePO Box 389 Newton, NC 28658
  • (view all county locations)

Meeting Schedule

2018 Meeting Schedule of the Catawba County Board of Commissioners

Meetings are held in the Robert E. Hibbitts Meeting Room of the 1924 Courthouse located at 30 North College Avenue, Newton, NC 28658 until March 19, 2018.

Thereafter, starting on April 2, 2018, the Board of Commissioners Meetings will take place in the Catawba County Justice Center, Board of Commissioners Meeting Room, 2nd Floor, 100 Government Drive, Newton.

Regular Meeting Schedule: The Catawba County Board of Commissioners meets the first and third Mondays of each month, at 7:00 p.m., except for the only January meeting which shall be held on Tuesday following Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday and the first meeting in September which shall be held on Tuesday following Labor Day).

Note – The first meeting in February (February 5, 2018) will be at 9:30a.m. Also note there will be only one meeting in January, March and July 2018.

Subcommittees of the Board of Commissioners: Board Subcommittees meet the Monday prior to the scheduled Board meetings, beginning at 8:00 a.m. in the Second Floor Meeting Room of the GovernmentCenter, 25 Government Drive, Newton, unless otherwise noted. These subcommittees review matters on the agenda, and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners.

All meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend and participate

Board of Commissioners Meeting Procedures

Tuesday, January 16, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday August 6, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, February 5, 2018, 9:30 a.m.Monday, August 20, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, February 19, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Tuesday, September 4, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, March 19, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, September 17, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, April 2, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, October 1, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, April 16, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, October 15, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, May 7, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, November 5, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, May 21, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, November 19, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, June 4, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, December 3, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, June 18, 2018, 7:00 p.m.Monday, December 17, 2018, 7:00 p.m.
Monday, July 23, 2018, 7:00 p.m.

Persons with Disabilities:
Individuals needing assistance should contact the County Clerk at (828) 465-8990 within a reasonable time prior to the meeting. Access to the 1924 Courthouse for individuals with disabilities is at the south side (“A” Street). The elevator is located at the north end of the building. Participation in public meetings is without regard to race, ethnicity, sex, religion, age or disability.