STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INFORMATION SHEET

INFORMATION ON AVAILABLE RESOURCES

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE SERVICES
Domestic violence services such as shelter, court advocacy, counseling, support group, and other crisis intervention services are

available in every county in NC.
@ If you have access to a telephone, you can get information on how to contact the domestic violence program in your area by
calling:
® The North Carolina Council for Women/Domestic Viclence Commission at (919) 733-2455 during normal business hours.
B The National Domestic Viclence Hotline 24 hours a day for immediate assistance at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or
1-800-787-3224 (TTY).
® If you have access to a computer, you can get contact information about your local domestic violence program by visiting
gither of the following :
B www.nceadv.org (North Carolina Coalition Against Domestic Violence)
B www.doa.state.nc.us/cfw/dv.him (North Carolina Council or Women/Domestic Violence Commission)

SEXUAL ASSAULT SERVICES
Throughout most of North Carolina, there are rape crisis centers where you can talk to somecne about sexual assault services such

as counseling, free legal representation, or other crisis intervention services,
® If you have access to a telephone, you can get information on how to contact the sexual assault service provider in your area
by calling: - ‘
B The North Carolina Councit for Women/Domestic Violence Commission at (919) 733-2455 during normal business hours.
B You can also contact the National Sexual Assault Hotline 24 hours a day for immediate assistance at 1-800-656-HOPE
(2673).
® If you have access to a computer, you can get contact information about the sexual assauilt program by visiting either of the
following :
B www.nccasa.org (North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault)
B www.doa.state.nc.us/fsa.htm (North Carolina Council or Women/Domestic Violence Commission)

VICTIMS™ COMPENSATION SERVICES
if you would like to leam more about your rights to victim compensation, contact:

B NC Victims' Compensation Services - 1-800-826-6200 or (919) 733-7974

LEGAL AID SERVICES
Legal Aid of North Carolina (LANC) provides basic civil legal services to eligible clients In all 100 counties in North Carolina through its

field offices. For information on the legal aid office in your area, visit their website at http:/'www.legalaidnc.org or 1-866-219-5262,

ADDRESS CONFIDENTIALITY PROCGRAM :
The Address Confidentiality Program provides services to "help ensure perpetrators of domestic violence, sexual offense and stalking

cannot use the State's public records law to locate their victims." f you would like to learn more about this program, please contact:

N Address Confidentiality Program - 919-716-6785 or hitp://www.acp@ncdoi.gov
REQUIREMENTS OF APPLICANT FOR TEMPORARY PERMIT

"[TIhe sheriff may issue a temporary permit not to exceed 90 days to a person who the sheriff reasonably believes is in an
emergency situation that may constitute a risk of safety to the person, the person's family or property. The applicant may submit
proof of a protective order issued under G.S. 50B-3 for the protection of the applicant as evidence of an emergency situation. The
temporary permit may not be renewed and may be revoked by the sheriff without hearing.” G.S. 14-415.15(b)

The sheriff is authorized to issue a temporary permit when the sheriff believes that the applicant is in an emergency situation and the
applicant presents all of the following:
1. An application, completed under oath, on a form provided by the sheriff.

2. Anonrefundable permit fee,
3. Afull set of fingerprints of the applicant administered by the sheriff.
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